Products

Features

Company

Resources

Products

Carta vs Sydecar for SPVs (2026 Comparison)

Carta vs Sydecar for SPVs (2026 Comparison)

Addhyan Negi

·

Last updated Nov 2026

The short answer: Carta and Sydecar both form and run SPVs, but they are built differently. Carta offers SPVs inside a larger fund management and equity platform and treats SPV tax preparation as an added service; it did not publish an SPV price on the pages we checked. Sydecar is SPV-focused and publishes a fee formula of 2% of capital raised (minimum $2,500, maximum $12,500) plus a $2,000 regulatory fee. Which fits depends on your deal size and whether you need the wider suite.

All vendor facts below come from each company's own public pages, checked on Nov 2, 2026. Pricing changes often; confirm with the vendor before you decide. We also show where Allocations fits, using only its published pricing.

Carta vs Sydecar for SPVs

Carta vs Sydecar for SPVs, Nov 2026.

Carta vs Sydecar at a glance


Carta

Sydecar

Positioning on public pages

SPVs as part of fund management and equity suite

SPV-focused platform

Published SPV price

Not found on pages checked

From $4,500: 2% of capital raised ($2,500-$12,500) + $2,000 regulatory fee

Entity

Delaware LLC or LP, with you as Manager/GP (institutional SPVs)

End-to-end SPV formation

Banking

Banking setup listed in formation

Instant banking and accounts listed

KYC/AML

KYC/AML services listed

KYC/KYB/AML listed

Tax

Distributes K-1s; SPV tax preparation offered as an additional service

K-1s and tax filings listed as included

Regulatory filings

Formation filings listed

Form D and blue sky filings listed

Published add-ons

Not found on pages checked

$3,000 each: non-US investments, additional closes, US pass-through entities; $1,000 first distribution

What each SPV platform lists publicly

What each vendor lists on its public pages. A dash means not stated on the pages checked.

Carta for SPVs

Carta's SPV management page describes forming, closing and managing SPVs "from formation to distribution". For institutional SPVs it says the vehicle is formed as a Delaware LLC or LP with you as Manager or General Partner, and that Carta works with a registered agent to obtain the EIN. It says Carta covers the filing fee, first-year registered agent fee, and annual franchise tax and registered agent fees while you are on the platform.

Features listed include Carta Closings with AI-filled subscription documents, a dedicated LP portal for signing and capital calls, KYC/AML services and tax services. On tax, the page says Carta gives books and records to your tax preparer and distributes K-1s prepared by your tax provider, and that it now offers SPV tax preparation as an additional service delivering Form 1065, Schedule K-1s and state returns.

The main reason to pick Carta is the suite: if you already run a fund or your cap table on Carta, keeping SPVs in the same system can help. Carta's SPV page links to pricing and plans, but we did not find an SPV price on the pages we checked.

Sydecar for SPVs

Sydecar's pricing page describes the company as a one-stop shop for SPVs. The listed inclusions are end-to-end SPV formation, back-office administration, K-1s and tax filings, KYC/KYB/AML, banking and accounts, carry sharing, digital investor onboarding, Form D and blue sky filings, data rooms and investor communication tools, and in-kind distributions.

Pricing is published as a formula: SPVs start at $4,500 one time, made up of 2% of capital raised (between $2,500 and $12,500) plus a $2,000 regulatory fee. Add-ons are listed at $3,000 each for non-US investments, additional closes and US pass-through entities, and $1,000 for the first distribution.

Because the fee scales with the raise, Sydecar's published base fee is lower for small SPVs and rises with deal size until the $12,500 cap.

Pricing compared

The chart below computes each published base fee at four raise sizes. Sydecar is 2% of the raise within its floor and cap, plus $2,000. Allocations' Standard SPV is a flat $9,950. Carta is not shown because it does not publish an SPV price on the pages we checked.

Published one-SPV base cost by capital raised

Base fees from each vendor page, checked Nov 2, 2026. Add-ons excluded.

Capital raised

Sydecar (published formula)

Allocations Standard SPV

Carta

$100,000

$4,500

$9,950

Not published

$250,000

$7,000

$9,950

Not published

$500,000

$12,000

$9,950

Not published

$1,000,000

$14,500

$9,950

Not published

Base fees are only part of the cost. Check per-investor limits, extra closes, non-US assets or investors, distributions and tax add-ons on each schedule. Allocations' Standard SPV includes up to 35 investors and charges $100 per additional investor; Sydecar's investor limits were not stated on the page we checked.

Which one should you choose?

  • Small first deals: a fee that scales with the raise, like Sydecar's, will usually cost less on base fees.

  • Already on Carta: if your fund or cap table is on Carta, the suite may matter more than the SPV price. Get a quote.

  • Larger raises: compare a capped percentage fee with flat pricing at your expected deal size.

  • International deals: compare non-US add-ons; Sydecar lists $3,000 and Allocations lists +$1,000 for international assets.

  • Several deals a year: consider whether a fund structure is a better fit than many SPVs.

What the public pages do not tell you

Some details that matter for a decision were not stated on the vendor pages we checked. For Carta: an SPV price, investor limits per SPV, and whether Form D and blue sky filings are included. For Sydecar: the number of investors included per SPV and the cost of tax preparation beyond what is listed as included. Neither page states turnaround times for formation or K-1 delivery. These gaps are not evidence that a feature is missing or extra; they are the questions to put to each sales team. We will update this comparison if either vendor publishes more.

Questions to ask any SPV platform

  1. What is the all-in cost for my deal size and investor count, including add-ons?

  2. How many investors and closes are included before extra fees apply?

  3. Who prepares Form 1065 and the K-1s, and is that included or an add-on?

  4. Are Form D and state blue sky filings handled, and are state fees passed through?

  5. What happens at exit: is there a distribution fee, and are in-kind distributions supported?

  6. Is there platform carry or a share of my economics?

  7. Can I move existing vehicles onto the platform, and what does migration cost?

Ask for answers in writing, and compare the same deal on each schedule. A cheaper base fee can end up costing more once closes, international investors and distributions are added.

Where Allocations fits

Allocations is an SPV and fund platform with published pricing. Per its SPV page and fee schedule, checked Nov 2, 2026:

  • Standard SPV: $9,950 one-time, up to 35 investors, 1 close, VC asset types, 5-year term.

  • Premium SPV: $19,500, up to 50 investors, any asset type, $2,000 per additional close.

  • Fund: $19,500 per year, up to 249 investors (VC) or 99 (non-VC), 30 assets included, unlimited closes.

  • 0% platform carry; a dedicated bank account for every SPV; KYC/AML; Reg D filings; K-1s as part of administration.

  • Distributions from $5,000; international assets +$1,000; extra investors +$100.

For a head-to-head with each vendor, see Carta vs Allocations and Sydecar vs Allocations. For fund-level work, see fund administration services.

All SPVs rely on a private offering exemption, usually SEC Rule 506 of Regulation D, whichever platform you use.

FAQ

What is the difference between Carta and Sydecar for SPVs?

Carta offers SPVs as part of a broader fund management and equity suite, with SPV tax preparation as an added service and no SPV price on the pages we checked. Sydecar is SPV-focused and publishes a formula: 2% of capital raised with a $2,500 minimum and $12,500 maximum, plus a $2,000 regulatory fee.

How much does a Sydecar SPV cost?

Sydecar's pricing page, checked Nov 2, 2026, says SPVs start at $4,500 one time: 2% of capital raised between $2,500 and $12,500, plus a $2,000 regulatory fee. It lists add-ons at $3,000 for non-US investments, additional closes and US pass-through entities, and $1,000 for a first distribution.

How much does a Carta SPV cost?

Carta's SPV page links to pricing and plans but we did not find a published SPV price on the pages checked on Nov 2, 2026. Ask Carta for a quote.

Does Carta prepare K-1s for SPVs?

Carta's SPV page says Carta provides books and records to your tax preparer and distributes K-1s through the platform, and now offers SPV tax preparation as an additional service covering Form 1065, Schedule K-1s and state returns.

Where does Allocations fit?

Allocations publishes a flat Standard SPV price of $9,950 one-time for up to 35 investors, a Premium SPV at $19,500 and a Fund plan at $19,500 per year, with 0% platform carry and K-1s as part of SPV administration. Compare the full schedules for your deal size.

Disclaimer

This article is general information about how private funds and SPVs work. It is not legal, tax or investment advice, and it is not an offer to sell or a solicitation of an offer to buy any security. Prices are as published on allocations.com on Nov 2, 2026 and can change; confirm current terms before you rely on them. Rules change and every vehicle is different, so speak with qualified legal and tax advisers about your situation. AllocationsX is operated by Allocations Securities, LLC, member FINRA/SIPC.

Last updated Nov 2026

The short answer: Carta and Sydecar both form and run SPVs, but they are built differently. Carta offers SPVs inside a larger fund management and equity platform and treats SPV tax preparation as an added service; it did not publish an SPV price on the pages we checked. Sydecar is SPV-focused and publishes a fee formula of 2% of capital raised (minimum $2,500, maximum $12,500) plus a $2,000 regulatory fee. Which fits depends on your deal size and whether you need the wider suite.

All vendor facts below come from each company's own public pages, checked on Nov 2, 2026. Pricing changes often; confirm with the vendor before you decide. We also show where Allocations fits, using only its published pricing.

Carta vs Sydecar for SPVs

Carta vs Sydecar for SPVs, Nov 2026.

Carta vs Sydecar at a glance


Carta

Sydecar

Positioning on public pages

SPVs as part of fund management and equity suite

SPV-focused platform

Published SPV price

Not found on pages checked

From $4,500: 2% of capital raised ($2,500-$12,500) + $2,000 regulatory fee

Entity

Delaware LLC or LP, with you as Manager/GP (institutional SPVs)

End-to-end SPV formation

Banking

Banking setup listed in formation

Instant banking and accounts listed

KYC/AML

KYC/AML services listed

KYC/KYB/AML listed

Tax

Distributes K-1s; SPV tax preparation offered as an additional service

K-1s and tax filings listed as included

Regulatory filings

Formation filings listed

Form D and blue sky filings listed

Published add-ons

Not found on pages checked

$3,000 each: non-US investments, additional closes, US pass-through entities; $1,000 first distribution

What each SPV platform lists publicly

What each vendor lists on its public pages. A dash means not stated on the pages checked.

Carta for SPVs

Carta's SPV management page describes forming, closing and managing SPVs "from formation to distribution". For institutional SPVs it says the vehicle is formed as a Delaware LLC or LP with you as Manager or General Partner, and that Carta works with a registered agent to obtain the EIN. It says Carta covers the filing fee, first-year registered agent fee, and annual franchise tax and registered agent fees while you are on the platform.

Features listed include Carta Closings with AI-filled subscription documents, a dedicated LP portal for signing and capital calls, KYC/AML services and tax services. On tax, the page says Carta gives books and records to your tax preparer and distributes K-1s prepared by your tax provider, and that it now offers SPV tax preparation as an additional service delivering Form 1065, Schedule K-1s and state returns.

The main reason to pick Carta is the suite: if you already run a fund or your cap table on Carta, keeping SPVs in the same system can help. Carta's SPV page links to pricing and plans, but we did not find an SPV price on the pages we checked.

Sydecar for SPVs

Sydecar's pricing page describes the company as a one-stop shop for SPVs. The listed inclusions are end-to-end SPV formation, back-office administration, K-1s and tax filings, KYC/KYB/AML, banking and accounts, carry sharing, digital investor onboarding, Form D and blue sky filings, data rooms and investor communication tools, and in-kind distributions.

Pricing is published as a formula: SPVs start at $4,500 one time, made up of 2% of capital raised (between $2,500 and $12,500) plus a $2,000 regulatory fee. Add-ons are listed at $3,000 each for non-US investments, additional closes and US pass-through entities, and $1,000 for the first distribution.

Because the fee scales with the raise, Sydecar's published base fee is lower for small SPVs and rises with deal size until the $12,500 cap.

Pricing compared

The chart below computes each published base fee at four raise sizes. Sydecar is 2% of the raise within its floor and cap, plus $2,000. Allocations' Standard SPV is a flat $9,950. Carta is not shown because it does not publish an SPV price on the pages we checked.

Published one-SPV base cost by capital raised

Base fees from each vendor page, checked Nov 2, 2026. Add-ons excluded.

Capital raised

Sydecar (published formula)

Allocations Standard SPV

Carta

$100,000

$4,500

$9,950

Not published

$250,000

$7,000

$9,950

Not published

$500,000

$12,000

$9,950

Not published

$1,000,000

$14,500

$9,950

Not published

Base fees are only part of the cost. Check per-investor limits, extra closes, non-US assets or investors, distributions and tax add-ons on each schedule. Allocations' Standard SPV includes up to 35 investors and charges $100 per additional investor; Sydecar's investor limits were not stated on the page we checked.

Which one should you choose?

  • Small first deals: a fee that scales with the raise, like Sydecar's, will usually cost less on base fees.

  • Already on Carta: if your fund or cap table is on Carta, the suite may matter more than the SPV price. Get a quote.

  • Larger raises: compare a capped percentage fee with flat pricing at your expected deal size.

  • International deals: compare non-US add-ons; Sydecar lists $3,000 and Allocations lists +$1,000 for international assets.

  • Several deals a year: consider whether a fund structure is a better fit than many SPVs.

What the public pages do not tell you

Some details that matter for a decision were not stated on the vendor pages we checked. For Carta: an SPV price, investor limits per SPV, and whether Form D and blue sky filings are included. For Sydecar: the number of investors included per SPV and the cost of tax preparation beyond what is listed as included. Neither page states turnaround times for formation or K-1 delivery. These gaps are not evidence that a feature is missing or extra; they are the questions to put to each sales team. We will update this comparison if either vendor publishes more.

Questions to ask any SPV platform

  1. What is the all-in cost for my deal size and investor count, including add-ons?

  2. How many investors and closes are included before extra fees apply?

  3. Who prepares Form 1065 and the K-1s, and is that included or an add-on?

  4. Are Form D and state blue sky filings handled, and are state fees passed through?

  5. What happens at exit: is there a distribution fee, and are in-kind distributions supported?

  6. Is there platform carry or a share of my economics?

  7. Can I move existing vehicles onto the platform, and what does migration cost?

Ask for answers in writing, and compare the same deal on each schedule. A cheaper base fee can end up costing more once closes, international investors and distributions are added.

Where Allocations fits

Allocations is an SPV and fund platform with published pricing. Per its SPV page and fee schedule, checked Nov 2, 2026:

  • Standard SPV: $9,950 one-time, up to 35 investors, 1 close, VC asset types, 5-year term.

  • Premium SPV: $19,500, up to 50 investors, any asset type, $2,000 per additional close.

  • Fund: $19,500 per year, up to 249 investors (VC) or 99 (non-VC), 30 assets included, unlimited closes.

  • 0% platform carry; a dedicated bank account for every SPV; KYC/AML; Reg D filings; K-1s as part of administration.

  • Distributions from $5,000; international assets +$1,000; extra investors +$100.

For a head-to-head with each vendor, see Carta vs Allocations and Sydecar vs Allocations. For fund-level work, see fund administration services.

All SPVs rely on a private offering exemption, usually SEC Rule 506 of Regulation D, whichever platform you use.

FAQ

What is the difference between Carta and Sydecar for SPVs?

Carta offers SPVs as part of a broader fund management and equity suite, with SPV tax preparation as an added service and no SPV price on the pages we checked. Sydecar is SPV-focused and publishes a formula: 2% of capital raised with a $2,500 minimum and $12,500 maximum, plus a $2,000 regulatory fee.

How much does a Sydecar SPV cost?

Sydecar's pricing page, checked Nov 2, 2026, says SPVs start at $4,500 one time: 2% of capital raised between $2,500 and $12,500, plus a $2,000 regulatory fee. It lists add-ons at $3,000 for non-US investments, additional closes and US pass-through entities, and $1,000 for a first distribution.

How much does a Carta SPV cost?

Carta's SPV page links to pricing and plans but we did not find a published SPV price on the pages checked on Nov 2, 2026. Ask Carta for a quote.

Does Carta prepare K-1s for SPVs?

Carta's SPV page says Carta provides books and records to your tax preparer and distributes K-1s through the platform, and now offers SPV tax preparation as an additional service covering Form 1065, Schedule K-1s and state returns.

Where does Allocations fit?

Allocations publishes a flat Standard SPV price of $9,950 one-time for up to 35 investors, a Premium SPV at $19,500 and a Fund plan at $19,500 per year, with 0% platform carry and K-1s as part of SPV administration. Compare the full schedules for your deal size.

Disclaimer

This article is general information about how private funds and SPVs work. It is not legal, tax or investment advice, and it is not an offer to sell or a solicitation of an offer to buy any security. Prices are as published on allocations.com on Nov 2, 2026 and can change; confirm current terms before you rely on them. Rules change and every vehicle is different, so speak with qualified legal and tax advisers about your situation. AllocationsX is operated by Allocations Securities, LLC, member FINRA/SIPC.

Addhyan Negi

Director of Marketing, Allocations

Start your next SPV

in 10 minutes

Start your next SPV in 10 minutes

Start your next SPV

in 10 minutes

Allocations secondary market is operated through Allocations Securities, LLC dba AllocationsX, member FINRA/SIPC. Check this firm on FINRA BrokerCheck. Allocations Securities, LLC is a wholly owned subsidiary of Allocations, Inc.

Copyright © Allocations Inc

Allocations secondary market is operated through Allocations Securities, LLC dba AllocationsX, member FINRA/SIPC. Check this firm on FINRA BrokerCheck. Allocations Securities, LLC is a wholly owned subsidiary of Allocations, Inc.

Copyright © Allocations Inc

Allocations secondary market is operated through Allocations Securities, LLC dba AllocationsX, member FINRA/SIPC. Check this firm on FINRA BrokerCheck. Allocations Securities, LLC is a wholly owned subsidiary of Allocations, Inc.

Copyright © Allocations Inc